song on fire

There doesn’t have to be a disaster
It could have all ended happily ever after

The first words that come out
And I can see this song will be about you
I can’t believe that I can breathe without you
But all I need to do is carry on

The next line I write down
And there’s a tear that falls between the pages
I know that pain’s supposed to heal in stages
But it depends which one I’m standing on

I write lines down, then rip them up
Describing love can’t be this tough

I could set this song on fire, send it up in smoke
I could throw it in the river and watch it sink slowly
Tie the pages to a plane and send it to the moon

Song on Fire – Nickelback

Leave a Reply

