simpler times

What do you think about when you look at me
I know we’re not the fairytale you dreamed we’d be

How I wish we could go back to simpler times
Before all our scars and all our secrets were in the light
Now on this hallowed ground, we’ve drawn the battle lines
Will we make it through the night?

It’s gonna take much more than promises this time

Maybe you and I were never meant to be complete
Could we just be broken together?
If you can bring your shattered dreams and I’ll bring mine

Broken together – Casting Crowns

Oh how I wish we could go back to simpler times
I’d be yours and you’d be mine
We’d swim across the ocean
Put all our plans into motion

We’d try to laugh and dream together
I promise I’d always be your forever
But the times we used to dream about
Disappeared into the gray clouds

No time or place would bring us back
I wonder if this sadness will forever last
The times we were together, near
I frequently recall them, my dear
And I frequently fall apart
Because it feels like I never knew who you are


This is original work. Please reference this post or site if you wish to share it. Thank you.

 

Leave a Reply

